Skip to content

Grayden’s Ghost (or “Mommy’s a Moron”)

September 28, 2010

(When I said that Grayden would probably steal the show here on my blog, I wasn’t kidding.  I promise I don’t make this stuff up.)

So today I was laying with Grayden on my bed trying to get him to take a nap and he says to me, “Mommy, close the door.”  I replied, “No, we have to leave it open so Penny (dog) and Sniffer (cat) can go in and out.”

Then Grayden says, “Close the door so the boy won’t come in.” confused Confused, I ask, “What boy?”  And Grayden says, “The boy in the living room.”

wtf

…..wtf….

……….shocked

Not gonna lie, this is what my brain did:

(Three Men and a Baby movie ghost legend reference explained Here)

So at this point I completely forget about naptime and I start asking questions, very casually of course.

“What boy in the living room?”

Grayden replied, “The boy.” Thinking about this but realistically remembering that I was supposed to be encouraging sleep, I said, “Go to sleep.”

We lay there for awhile longer, me thinking, “What is he talking about??” And him squirming around and humming and pretty much doing anything possible not to fall asleep.

A little while later I say, “Grayden, be still and go to sleep.”  And he says, “I talking to the boy.”

shockedshockedshocked

“What boy are you talking about Grayden?”

“The boy.” He replies matter-of-factly.

“What does the boy look like?” I ask.

No answer.

“What color hair does he have?” I ask.

“White.” Grayden replies.

Gulp. stunned

“White hair…like a GHOST??” I think to myself.

“He has white hair?” I ask.

“No, black.”

Hmm..

“No, brown.” Grayden says.

“Okay, white-ish, blackish, brownish hair.  Got it.” whatevah

“Is he a nice boy?” I ask.

“Yep!” says Grayden, while continuing to squirm around.

Meanwhile, my brain is going 90 to nothin’ trying to figure out what he is talking about and thinking, “Come on, Melissa.  A ghost? Really??” I’m not normally an easily freaked out kind of person. But this?  This. Creeped. My. Stuff.  OUT.  Meanwhile, realistic, perfectly logical me is thinking, “Ghosts don’t live in houses built in 2004.” But then creeped out, Totally-Waiting-On-Samara-To-Climb-Out-From-Under-The-Bed-Me thinks “What if they buried the body under the slab??” shocked

“What’s his name?” I ask, careful to keep a casual tone in my voice.

“Freffressies.” (Or somethin’ like that) Grayden replies.

“What?” I ask.

“Brefrey.”

“Huh?”

“Jerreffrey.”  He says.

“Jeffrey?” I ask.

“Yeah, Jeffrey!” Grayden says.

It was at this point that I peed almost peed my pants.  You see, Rob had a little baby brother named Jeffrey who died as an infant.  So I’m all “Oh my God, baby Jeffrey followed Rob home and is playing with Grayden in the living room while I’m not looking.”

So we lay there awhile longer, all the while my brain is trying to figure out who I’m gonna call (Ghostbusters, duh).  Grayden’s still flopping around like a fish and whispering The Itsy Bitsy Spider (his current favorite song) to himself and doing all the things toddlers do to fight going to sleep.

So then I ask him, “Where in the living room did you see Jeffrey?”

And Grayden says, “On TV.”

“On TV?”

“Yeah, he’s on Caillou.”

Ohhhhh!!!!!! Caillou.  Caillou’s friend Jeffrey .  Jeffrey, twin brother to Jason, Jeffrey.  THAT Jeffrey.

Not a ghost.

Mommy’s a moron.  whatevah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 11:55 PM

    OH my gosh Melissa, this is insanely awesome! You know I would be thinking the SAME thing! I still keep trying to figure out who ” baba” is that Susanna talks about!! -Julia

    • September 29, 2010 11:40 AM

      Thanks Julia! You have a Baba?? I wonder how one is supposed to distinguish an imaginary friend from a ghost?? LOL!

  2. Lissersmom AKA Nana permalink
    September 29, 2010 8:19 AM

    ^ I agree…what you said! LOL

    • September 29, 2010 11:41 AM

      Gee thanks Mother. A GOOD mother would say, “Honey, you’re not a moron.” Instead mine says “Yep, you’re totally a moron.” It’s no wonder I have ISSUES!

  3. April permalink
    September 29, 2010 3:00 PM

    No lie…I was about to have a heart attack while reading this! UGH I am SO easily freaked out by evil kids/ghost kids/scary things involving children…I was thinking “Oh NO! Take the baby and RUN Lisser!” LOL. Way to go Grayden, you not only freaked out Mommy, but you spooked Aunty Apey as well! Double win!

  4. Jennifer Holladay permalink
    November 21, 2010 7:58 PM

    This freaked me out too.. and in the back of my mind, Im thinking of your moms ghost story from Maryland. That was a little boy too.. Im glad you uncovered the mystery! Love you =)

Leave a Reply

